THE TOLLING OF THE BELLS

On a warm and breezy afternoon, I stand outside and listen as wind chimes all across the neighborhood ring out in different pitches, announcing the arrival of the next wind flowing from God into this little corner of the creation. I love the soothing sounds, as they bring a sense of calm into my soul. In some ways, they remind me of the bells that ring out from steeples to share a favorite hymn or call a community into worship. I have been blessed to hear a Carillon play Silent Night out into the neighborhood at midnight on a Christmas Eve. I have felt the joy of hearing the bells toll above an outdoor mass as I declare, “He Is Risen!” I have felt the sorrow of observing the bells solemnly count off seventeen rings as we laid to rest a seventeen-year-old young man. I have felt the peace that comes with the methodical tolling of the church bell during the reciting of the Lord’s Prayer by the community in unison. These bells speak to us as if to carry the voice of the Holy Spirit into our day.

I find my mind drifting back to the wind chime hanging just a few feet away. It moves with each gust, as if God is intentionally making music by playfully and gently pushing the chimes. Perhaps the Lord is blowing upon them, as Jesus breathed upon the disciples while proclaiming the words, “Receive the Holy Spirit.” Maybe it is the Spirit itself flowing and simply providing me with awareness of divine presence swirling around me. Regardless, the sounds speak to my soul in a way I cannot describe, providing a comfort I desperately crave. Really, it is of little importance that I understand why I enjoy this interaction as I do. What does matter to me on this afternoon is that God speaks and interacts with intention…and I have been blessed in these moments to notice the greeting. Amen.

-Rev Jeffrey G Mikyska    

Leave a comment