THE MOVEMENT OF LIFE

On a July morning overlooking the city of Toronto, a cool breeze blows in off Lake Ontario. In an instant, the humidity lifts and the temperature drops several degrees to a comfortable level. Down below, the sounds of city life echo between the buildings, as sirens and horns and construction equipment mark the passage of each moment. In the distance, the waves on the lake glisten in the sun, and seagulls glide effortlessly upon the air currents flowing in and around the buildings. The air is cool and crisp, and the haze has dissipated in mere minutes. From this vantage point, out on a balcony more than fifty stories up, one can see for miles, even far beyond the city limits. It is amazing to experience the world from the perspective of looking down upon the hustle of life, far removed above it all. It is equally incredible to watch God’s creation change its atmosphere so quickly.

In some ways, a large city is an organism of its own, ebbing and flowing as one, even as millions go about their day independently. The idea that I could gaze from street to street as I pleased was quite remarkable. That morning will always hold a special place in my heart. I was with my family, and for a few fleeting moments I had somewhat of a God’s eye view. The concept of watching life race along from an outsider’s perspective is a little unnerving. But God never really watches as an outsider. Instead, God sees it all unfolding and interacts personally. In fact, I could almost sense the presence of God by my side, perhaps looking down from my vantage point in amusement. For my perspective is so infinitely small in comparison, even if it seemed so large to me then. And perhaps that is the whole point. My view of life is inherently limited by nature. Faith is trusting in that which one cannot see. I felt peace that morning, not because I was beyond the life below, but rather because I was exactly in the middle of that which God guides and participates within every moment of all the ages. I could literally see a day in the life of a major city unfolding, and I could feel the creation at work cleansing itself. It was one of the most beautiful mornings I have ever experienced. There are times even now when I can still close my eyes and imagine the sun sparkling and dancing on the waves of Lake Ontario. God was at work, a city was awaking, and the creation was stirring. The day the Lord has made. Thanks be to God. Amen.

-Rev Jeffrey G Mikyska

Leave a comment